instructions from the Governor in Council or the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development. The Commissioner in Council has power to make ordinances dealing with the imposition of local taxes, sale of liquor, preservation of game, establishment of territorial offices, maintenance of municipal institutions, issue of licences, incorporation of companies, solemnization of marriage, property and civil rights, and generally all matters of a local nature in the Territory. The Commissioner and Council in office on June 30, 1966 were elected in 1964 for a three-year term.

## GOVERNMENT OF THE YUKON TERRITORY (as at June 30, 1966)

Commissioner	G. R. CAMERON
Members of the Council—	
Carmacks-Kluane, ,,	ROBERT D. MACKINNON
Dawson	GEORGE O. SHAW (Speaker)
Мауо.	FBANK G. SOUTHAM
Watson Lake	DONALD G. TAYLOB
Whitehorse East	HERBERT E. BOYD
Whitehorse North	JOHN KENNETH THOMPSON
Whitehorse South	J. WATT
Officers of the Council—	
Territorial Secretary and Clerk of the Council	H. J. TAYLOR
Territorial Treasurer	K. MCKENZIE
Legal Adviser	C. P. HUGHES

The Northern Administration Branch, Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development, has the responsibility for the general administration of the natural resources of the Yukon Territory, except game. The Department maintains lands and mining offices at four points in the Territory. Other departments and agencies of the Federal Government maintaining offices in Yukon Territory include: the Department of Justice, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, the Department of National Defence, the Department of Energy, Mines and Resources, the Department of National Revenue, the Department of Transport, the Post Office Department, the Department of Agriculture, the Department of Public Works, the Department of Fisheries, and the (now) Department of Manpower and Immigration.\*

Northwest Territories.—As reconstituted on Sept. 1, 1905, the Northwest Territories comprise: (1) all that part of Canada north of the 60th parallel of north latitude, except the portions thereof within the Yukon Territory and the Provinces of Quebec and Newfound-land; and (2) the islands in Hudson Bay, James Bay and Ungava Bay, except those islands within the Provinces of Manitoba, Ontario and Quebec.

The Northwest Territories Act (RSC 1952, c. 331) provides for the appointment of a Commissioner to administer the government of the Territories under instructions given from time to time by the Governor in Council or the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development. The Northwest Territories Act, as amended, also provides for a Council of nine members, four of whom are elected in the Mackenzie District and five of whom are appointed by the Governor in Council. The Commissioner in Council has legislative powers respecting such matters as direct taxation, establishment and tenure of territorial offices, municipal institutions, controverted elections, licences, incorporation of companies, property and civil rights, administration of justice, game, education, hospitals and generally all matters of a local or private nature. The Council meets once each year in the Terri-

<sup>\*</sup>Further information on officials of various Federal Government departments serving the Yukon Territory may be obtained from the Director, Northern Administration Branch, Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development, Ottawa.